Get in touch (813) 875-6600

Board of Directors

DrKPatel_2Kiran Patel, MD


Kiran C. Patel, MD was until recently the Chairman and President of Freedom Health, Inc. Dr. Patel and also the Chairman and President of Optimum Healthcare, Inc. He is a Board-Certified cardiologist. Dr. Patel began his career in private practice. He quickly became recognized as a pre-eminent cardiologist and established a physician practice management company, which he grew to over 20 physicians and multiple locations. He is the founder of the Drs. Kiran and Pallavi Patel Family Foundation. Dr. Patel subsequently entered the managed care industry and was the Chairman of WellCare of Florida. While at WellCare, he acquired struggling HMOs in New York and Connecticut. Dr. Patel left WellCare in 2002. After that, Dr. Patel was under a non-compete agreement and thus became involved in healthcare informatics. He was a Member of Advisory Board of BelHealth Investment Partners, LLC. Among the honors and awards that he has received is the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award for the Southeast United States, Jefferson Award for Public Service-National Media Award, Community Leader Award-Community Development Corporation of Tampa, Lions Clubs International Academy Award for Humanitarian Service, and Ike Tribble Award from National Urban League. On New Year’s Day in 2007, Dr. Patel was honored with the “Glory of Gujarat” award from the Chief Minister of his home State in India. In May 2007, he received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor for Exceptional Immigrant Patriots. Dr. Patel completed his fellowship in Cardiology at Columbia University in 1982. He completed his residency in Internal Medicine in New Jersey after obtaining a Medical degree from Gujarat University in India and completed an internship in Africa. Dr. Patel studied under the British Educational System in Zambia and received a Diploma from Cambridge University in the United Kingdom. He also completed studies at the University of London.

George Ng photo -2014BSD 061ret - NgGeorge Ng

Lead Director

George Ng, Co-Founder and Partner in PENG Life Ventures, is a seasoned life sciences industry executive. He has founded and/or led multiple companies, including Scilex Pharmaceuticals Inc., where he co-founded and led the company through development, clinical trials, NDA submission, FDA approval, a $140 million financing, commercial launch of the company’s first FDA-approved drug product, and company sale/merger. Mr. Ng has also held various other senior management positions, including Board Director, Managing Director, Chief Administrative Officer, Corporate Secretary, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer and Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, with publicly-traded and private, global biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies, including Sorrento Therapeutics, Inc. (NASDAQ: SRNE), BioDelivery Sciences International, Inc. (NASDAQ: BDSI), Spectrum Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: SPPI) and Alpharma, Inc. (now, a part of Pfizer Inc.). In these roles, Mr. Ng helped lead the development and commercialization efforts and launches of multiple pharmaceutical drug products. Previously, in private practice, Mr. Ng was a partner in two AMLAW 200 law firms, where he had leadership roles, including establishing the life sciences practice group for one firm and heading it as the national co-chair. Additionally, Mr. Ng is a current member of the Board of Directors for multiple companies, where he has led financings and transactions totaling more than $120 million in proceeds in the past year.

PLPatricia Lawman, PhD


Pat is a co-founder of Morphogenesis, Inc. and has served the Company as Chief Executive Officer since 2003. Pat also served as Morphogenesis’ Chief Operating Officer from 1996 until 2003. Pat previously served as Division Director of Cancer Molecular Biology at the Walt Disney Memorial Cancer Institute, where she initiated and led the multifaceted molecular biology, gene targeting, gene therapy, gene delivery, and universal stem cell projects. Pat holds degrees from the University of Florida in Anthropology, Plant Pathology, Immunology and Medical Microbiology with specialties in Hematology and Oncology and has held faculty positions at several Florida State Universities.

MLMichael Lawman, PhD


Michael is a co-founder of Morphogenesis, Inc. Michael received his PhD from the University of Surrey, UK, while working at the Animal Virus Research Institute (The Pirbright Institute). Michael came to the US as an NIH postdoctoral fellow at the University of Tennessee. Michael then served on the faculty of the Colleges of Veterinary Medicine at Auburn University and the University of Florida. Michael also worked as a senior scientist in the Division of Immunology and Cytokine Therapeutics of the Veterinary Infectious Disease Organization – Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization (VIDO) of Canada. Michael also held a faculty position at the University of Florida in the College of Medicine and was Director of Research at the Walt Disney Memorial Cancer Institute. Michael has published extensively and is co-inventor on numerous US and world-wide patents. He has participated as a research consultant on a number of topics for the Biopharmaceutical Industry and for International and US agencies. Michael also served as a reviewer and as an Ad Hoc reviewer for a number of scientific journals.